Denmark - Len Whitney

The diffident and reserved Danes seem to have an interesting relationship with outsiders or Danes who have left their homeland when it comes to voting for a representative to carry the Danish flag in Eurovision. Famously, last year Australian/Danish megatalent Anja Nissen got the short end of the stickwhen the Danes brushed off her fantastic entry in favor of Lighthouse X and their standard-issue boybandentry “Soldiers of Love.”

Nissen is born to Danish parents who emigrated to Australia, and possibly it took a year for the chilly Danes to warm up to the golden-voiced blond winner of THE VOICE AUSTRALIA, but yesterday they awarded her a massive win of 64% in the televoting.  Her soaring, modern pop anthem “Where I Am” will take her and the Danes to Kyiv in May.

This year, after two years of being left out in the cold after poor semifinal score in ESC, DR purposely avoided boybands in their preliminary song selection. One modern pop duo, Calling Mercury, was the only group effort to make their top ten and compete in the DMGP finals. Their overall direction seemed to be choosing a sleek, radio-friendly song that would fit into the charts as easily as into a Eurovision lineup. 

The entries were performed as follows:

01. Ida Una – ‘One’
02. Thomas Ring – ‘Vesterbro’
03. Rikke Skytte – ‘Color My World’
04. Anja Nissen – ‘Where I Am’
05. Calling Mercury – ‘Big Little Lies’
06. Anthony – ‘Smoke In My Eyes’
07. René Machon – ‘Warriors’
08. Sada Vidoo – ‘Northern Lights’
09. Jeanette Bonde – ‘Hurricane’
10. Johanna Beijbom – ‘A.S.A.P.’

When full recordings of the songs hit the internet and DR’s website this week, a few favorites emerged. Bettors and experts narrowed the choice down to three best bets: Ida’s “One”. Anja’s “Where I Am”, and British/Danish “living doll” Sada Vidoo with her intriguing “Northern Lights”.

When the songs were performed Saturday and many singers had shaky uneven vocals, especially returning male singer René Machon, the final three superfinalists included favorites Ida Una and Anja Nissen. Left out was kooky Sada Vidoo, in favor of former Danish entry backing vocalist Johanna Beijbom and her Kylie-influenced “A.S.A.P”. Beijbom was a small surprise, since she is a Swede who works often with Danish artists. (Perhaps Sada’s overseas success in British X-Factor was another bump in the road for her to get over as Anja did last year.)

When the superfinalists performed, it turned into a clear battle between Ida and Anja, with Nissen’s stellar vocals pushing her to the front.  The votes were announced, and it was no close race.  Anja Nissen looks to bring Denmark back into contention at ESC this spring with her confidence, stage presences and remarkable voice.