2019 National Selections

Once again we will be inviting members to contribute to a blog, reporting to other members on the happenings of each country’s national selections.

Countries have been assigned in the table below. Please note that the table is best viewed on a tablet or laptop, it may not show correctly on a phone.

Members will be assigned a country to report on their national selection process. The ‘reports’ will form a blog on ogaerotw.com to keep members up to date with national selections. For those that are new to the club, you can check out last years blog here.

We are looking for reports that are between 200 and 500 words each. You may also provide YouTube links or images related to the performance(s) or winner. We just ask in relation to images that when you provide them, you also provide a source for the image so we can credit it properly. Each report submitted is worth 20 points for #2020Points.

The reports should be emailed to contact@ogaerotw.com and should include "National Selection Report <COUNTRY NAME>" in the title. We would prefer that these be submitted within a few days of the specific selection you are reporting on.

For the multi stage selections there are teams of people assigned in order to maximise the number of people participating (countries like Sweden, Hungary and Lithuania). We would ask that you all agree as a group how to split the work between yourselves (for example - Sweden was one of the most popular countries so we assigned one person for each heat and the finals. You will need to decide between yourselves who will cover each specific heat/final. We will not accept 5 separate reports for the same heat - we would like each member of the team to cover a single heat or final so that we can read about the whole contest). For those where there are two or three of you, you may join up and provide a combined report for each round if you wish. In those circumstances we would divide the twenty points equally for each post (as the points are allocated per report not per person). For direct/internal selections you may choose to do a single report once the song has been revealed, or two separate reports covering the artist announcement and the song announcement if the country announces them at different times.

We look forward to reading your reviews between now and March as the selections take place.

Countries have been assigned as follows:

Albania Mike Whalley      
Armenia Sevket Yigit      
Australia Michaela Sowden      
Austria Luis Chong      
Azerbaijan Phill Beames      
Belarus Michael Jones-Gomez      
Belgium Guiobanhni Encinosa      
Croatia Kyle Woods      
Cyprus Dennis Flores      
Czech Republic Rachel Guttler      
Denmark Jose Luise Abaya      
Estonia Alan Nachtigal Edward Okulicz Cindy Zhang  
Finland Aaron Paraiso      
France Djamel Adja Evan Stewart Kent Acott  
Georgia Keshav Tyagi      
Germany Katharina Krause-Boger      
Greece Anjoum Noorani      
Hungary Wayne Ralph Ronny Addamo Chris Dominey Wayne Ralph
  Ronny Addamo Chris Dominey    
Iceland Tony Peter Belinda Conn Michele Acott  
Ireland Niall Drennan      
Israel Marcus Davey      
Italy Ilya Marin Alan Tubery Jose Luis Abaya  
Latvia Felipe de Oliveira Marcos Cortes Luc Spencer-Gardner Zac Jones
Lithuania Asta Zelenkauskaite Nicolas G. Mancini-Suarez Guillaume Malingri de Bagnolo Kent Acott
  Michele Acott Michael Jones-Gomez Michele Stigwood Stephen Stigwood
Macedonia Luke SpencerGardner      
Malta Scott Parsons      
Moldova Michelle Stigwood Matthew Passmore    
Montenegro Nicola Allen      
Netherlands Sascha Stolp      
Norway Cindy Zhang      
Poland Edward Till      
Portugal Luis Braga James Lindley Luis Braga  
Romania Matt MacDonald Alex White Fred Mederios  
Russia Osmar Valdebenito      
San Marino Andre Durham      
Serbia Steve Stigwood      
Slovenia Jorge Esteban Salazar Capon Damian Bernath    
Spain Enrique Lopez de Vallejo      
Sweden Fred Medeiros Angelo Fernandez Alex White Joseph Newman-Getzler
  Richard Isaac Kevin Fansler    
Switzerland Chris Zeiher      
Ukraine Herluis Alvarado Barry Tsai William Fedor  
United Kingdom Darren George